July 29, 2008

Clues for the Clueless #9

Posted in clues to the clueless tagged , , , at 11:18 pm by profart

Hint: if you sign up for a course, even an online course, you must actually complete the course if you want to pass the course. 

For some reason, every semester, I have 2-4 students who simply disappear in the last three weeks of a class. They stop submitting work. They stop participating in discussions. They don’t take the final exam. 

Trying to contact these students is of no avail. They do not return email. Phone messages for them go unreturned. My school doesn’t require academic advisors, so I can’t even go track them down that way (though when I am working at schools with advisors, that doesn’t usually result in contact, either). I leave messages desperate for contact, and get none. 

So I am forced to fail them. If you don’t complete a class, you fail it. It is just that simple. If I never hear from you again, nor any of your friend or relations, I can only assume you simply fell off the face of the earth and didn’t bother to do your work or contact anyone about it. College policy: Fail.

Leave a Reply

