January 20, 2009

Thou Shalt Teach

Posted in miscellaneous other matters, teaching revelations, Uncategorized tagged , , at 12:00 am by profart

Tuesday is the inauguration. They only happen every four years, and this one seems to be a particularly big deal. I will be watching it Tuesday night, off my DVR. Tuesday at 11 am, I teach. 

You see, students pay to take college classes. Well, someone pays for them to. So they have the right to have those classes taught. In order to allow my class to watch the inauguration, I had to have permission from every single one of them to basically cancel class so we could go watch it. I was planning to discuss it Thursday- the wonderful visual vocabulary of presidential pageantry! What an opportunity! But the message has been made crystal clear: Normal Class Shall Be Taught, Unless All Students Agree Otherwise. 

Of course, I have a student who does not want anything to do with the inauguration. Actually, three. So DVR it is. But I’m a little miffed that I don’t have control over my own class. It’s a wasted teaching moment.

Leave a Reply

