October 1, 2009

Emergency Course Takeover

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:34 pm by profart

One of the positives of being an adjunct is that being a hired gun, you can still pull out your revolver in the middle of a semester. That means if there is an emergency, you can actually help. For example, my one semester started without coverage for one of the classes. Hook me up to a video camera and voila! Those students get to keep their course.

One of my colleagues is very ill. Its a sad thing, because said colleague is positively brilliant, both as a scholar and a teacher, and you can’t really say that about a lot of folks in academia. We are going to lose this colleague, and we were all hoping it was going to be later rather than sooner.

You don’t always get what you want.

The latest onset was dramatic and sudden, and here we are five weeks into a semester, and we have students in courses with no professor. I’m actually a little flattered that they thought to call me about the class. Being an adjunct, I may have 5 other classes, but they are at a different school (many school limit adjuncts to 4 classes, because they are “part-time”); I can take this one on. I picked up the notes and materials we could find- our colleague was apparently working on the class and had most of the materials at home- and it was very sad. This is my colleague’s favorite, in-field class. This is the baby. I have to do not just a good job with it, but a great job. I have to make my colleague pleased and proud that this course could be covered, and make sure the students get the education they want and paid for. With this colleague, that is a tall order. Big, big shoes to fill.

Going to be a very busy weekend.

Leave a Reply

