December 3, 2009

A Question of Semantics

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:16 am by profart

Ok, after a massive increase in unfortunate incidents and attitudes, I have decided I need something in my syllabus that makes it clear that if you are rude to me in class, I reserve the right to flunk your butt. If you are belligerent, argumentative, and start shouting at me when I ask you to please be quiet, please do not interrupt class, please cite your work, etc., I reserve the right to flunk your butt. Flunk it right to Hell-o Kitty.

Now, I ask you, gentle readers, how to word that. Anybody else have a “watch your attitude” clause?

2 Comments »

  1. onlyme said,

    My syllabus states that “disruptive behavior will adversely affect your grade” but I haven’t actually threatened to fail them completely. It does give me a little bit of leeway, though.

  2. williamthecoroner said,

    I say that “Professional standards of dress and behaviour will be upheld at all times, and failures in professionalism will result in failure of the class.” OTOH, I also take them to the range, and warn them that violations of range discipline will get them shot by the RSO.


Leave a Reply

